Friday Favorite: Omeka

Nothing specific about Omeka is a favorite thing, I just want to say how much I love it, period. And the best thing is that Omeka isn’t just available as open-source software, it is also available as a hosted instance. And the even better thing is that the price of a hosted instance starts at FREE. Here’s the link with the info.

We want to start using Omeka at work. That involves a lot of moving parts, so it’s taking time (as these things do). So in the meantime I decided to create an instance of Omeka for the historical society I volunteer for here in Seattle. I signed up for the free instance, and so far I have uploaded over 210 images (access size JPGs + metadata) and have only used about 1/3 of my allotted storage under the free plan. All of the set up and uploading took about 15 hours total. Pretty sweet.

bhs omekaHappy Friday to all and hope you’re not frying like we are in the Pacific Northwest right now.

Leave a Reply

