Friday Favorite: Poldark

Going way off the usual topics with this one, but the long form blog post I am working on is pretty heavy so I’m going light on this Friday Favorite. A few months ago I decided to go ahead and watch the BBC’s new series of Poldark. It started out a bit slow for me, but by the end I was totally engrossed (and I definitely cried an embarrassing number of tears towards the end of the show).

I then requested the original novel from the Seattle Public Library. It may not be classic fiction like Dickens or Austen, but I found it highly enjoyable. The novel felt like a really authentic representation of Cornwall in the 1780s. I can’t stand historical fiction that completely flies in the face of the historical reality. This doesn’t mean that I hate things that aren’t totally realistic (ugh, boring) – Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell is one of my all time favorite novels. The different with that novel, and with Poldark, is that the characters react to the situations they are put in in a manner which would be appropriate to the period, whether that situation involves a miner’s strike or magic.

So the proverbial two thumbs up, and I am looking forward to Season Two. Happy holiday weekend everyone! And if you’re looking for something to watch on TV, a restored version of Ken Burn’s Civil War is airing every night on PBS next week.

Leave a Reply

