Friday Favorite: Weird Stuff I Find in Military Collections

There is a certain quality of sameness in the military collections, now that I have been through quite a few of them. There are always Orders and Memos from Headquarters.There’s usually some sort of ID Card and a medical report. Mixed in with the usual I find the inane, the humorous, the sad. Sometimes there are weird items produced by the military – a full pamphlet on venereal disease from WWI is an example that sticks out in my mind. That piece had some Grade A euphemism work going on.

I love those ‘other’ items, and the little bits of personality that shine through the miscellany left behind by the pilots. This week I found what is possibly my favorite piece ever. Just a reminder that people in the past were real people and not very different from us…

WWII Collection Notes

Leave a Reply

